Take tram number 1 to the Dejima stop (5 minutes, 140 yen from Nagasaki Station). The stop is right next to Dejima.





Dejima
Dejima (出島) is a historic site in Nagasaki that was originally a man-made island, built in 1636 to separate Portuguese residents from the Japanese population and control their missionary activities. Shortly after, the Portuguese were expelled from Japan, and the Dutch Trading Station, which had been based in Hirado, was moved to Dejima. During Japan's two centuries of isolation, Dejima became the only place where Westerners, specifically the Dutch, were allowed to stay.
Although Dejima is no longer an island, as the area was reclaimed in the 20th century, many of its historical structures remain or have been reconstructed. These include residences, warehouses, walls, and gates. Plans are underway to restore Dejima to its original island state by digging canals around its four sides, ensuring this significant part of Japan's history is preserved.
Hours and Fees
- Opening hours
-
8:00 to 21:00 (entry until 20:40)
- Closed
-
No closing days
- Entrance fee
-
520 yen
Getting there
Google MapsResources
Nearby
Reviews
There are no reviews